Contact Us

Contact Us

Thief River Falls Visitors Guide

Upcoming Events

Kick’n Up Kountry
June 12th, 2024 to June 15th, 2024
Farmers Market
Saturdays (until 28 September 2024) at 9am to 12pm
June 15th, 2024 at 9am
Summer Solstice Festival
June 20th, 2024 at 4pm to 8pm

Visit Thief River Falls

102 Main Ave. N

PO Box 176

Thief River Falls, MN 56701

Phone: (218) 686-9785


About Us

The Thief River Falls Convention & Visitors Bureau (dba Visit Thief River Falls) was enacted in February 1984. The CVB operated as a tourism marketing division under the Chamber of Commerce from 1984 to 2006. In 2006, the CVB incorporated and formed their own organization.

Funding Source

The CVB is funded solely by the 3% Lodging Tax that is collected from overnight visitors at all 7 hotel properties in Thief River Falls, as well as the city campground. This tax is collected by the City of Thief River Falls and 95% is passed along to the CVB monthly. These lodging tax dollars are used to market the entire community. There are no membership dues or fees assessed from individuals or businesses.

State of MN Office of the Attorney General: Lodging Tax Statute § 469.190

The funds that the CVB operates on are state-regulated by the following State Statute: "Ninety-five percent of the gross proceeds from any tax imposed under subdivision 1 shall be used by the statutory or home rule charter city or town to fund a local convention or tourism bureau for the purpose of marketing and promoting the city or town as a tourist or convention center."

Mission Statement

“The objective of the Thief River Falls Convention & Visitors Bureau shall be to promote the Thief River Falls area as a destination for conferences, conventions, events, group tours and leisure travelers; thereby enhancing the economic growth of the area.”

Executive Director

Megan Maloney - Executive Director

Board of Directors

Barbi Larson - President

Dave Carlson - Vice President

Hamilton Keefe - Treasurer

Melissa Benoit - Secretary

Travis Collins - Director

Scott Pream - Director

Glen Kajewski - Director

Kjelsy Stueber - Director

Amy Wozniak - Director

Joe Hedrick - Director

Marissa Adam - Director

Karolyn Clifton - Director

Our Partners

City of Thief River Falls Chamber of Commerce Advance Thief River Pioneer Radio TRF Radio The Times